Image Credit: ShutterStock

Justice Ketanji Brown Jackson Amongst 2023 Cohort of Delta Sigma Theta Honorary Members


Historically Black sorority Delta Sigma Theta recently announced Justice Ketanji Brown Jackson as one of their honorary members this year. 

At their ongoing 56th National Convention, the leaders of the sorority named the seven recipients of their honorary award; alongside Justice Brown Jackson, the president of MSNBC, Rashida Jones, WNBA player and Olympic gold medalist Tameka Catchings, as well as entrepreneur Phyllis Newhouse, are set to become honorary members. 

The chairperson of Warner Bros Channing Dungey, media businesswoman Debra L. Lee and the United States Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security, Bonnie Jenkins, were also announced as part of this year’s cohort. 

All of the recipients of the Delta Sigma Theta honorary title have had a significant impact in their respective careers. With her appointment to the Supreme Court in 2022, Justice Brown Jackson became the first Black woman to serve on the court. 

While Dungey became the first Black woman to lead a major broadcast network, Jones became the first Black woman to lead a major cable news network in 2020. 

Meanwhile, Lee is considered the “godmother of Black entertainment” for her work during her ongoing 30-year career in media, earning titles such as one of the “100 Most Powerful Women in Entertainment.”

As a government official, Jenkins has been the leader of global threat reduction programs in the Obama administration. She has also helped found the Women of Color Advancing Peace and Security, an organization that works to help marginalized women in careers of international security. 

Meanwhile, Catchings was recently inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame for her achievements in the sport. The legendary athlete is one of 11 women to win an Olympic gold medal, a Fiba World Cup gold, a WNBA Championship and a NCAA Championship.

In a new Instagram post, the sorority celebrated the women and their achievements, highlighting the importance of this award.

“Honorary membership is the highest honor extended to women who have made significant contributions to society while excelling in their chosen fields,” said the sorority in the caption of the post. “We welcome these exemplary women into our beloved sisterhood with great joy and love!”

Founded in 1913 by 22 women studying at Howard University, Delta Sigma Theta’s focus has been on celebrating academic excellence while also providing support to communities in need. 

Notable members of the academy include Aretha Franklin, Cicely Tyson, Alexis Herman, Andra Day, Sherrilyn Ifill and Nikki Giovanni. 

You May Also Like