(Photo credit: National Football Foundation)

College Football Hall of Fame Reveals Class of 2023

Listen to this story

Before Georgie annihilated TCU in the College Football Championship Game Monday night, the National Football Foundation (NFF) revealed the 2023 College Football Hall of Fame Class, and what a class it is.

This year’s class is stacked with talent, including 18 First-Team All-America players and four coaches. The list includes:

Eric Berry – DB, Tennessee (2007-09)
Michael Bishop – QB, Kansas State (1997-98)
Reggie Bush – RB, Southern California (2003-05)
Dwight Freeney – DE, Syracuse (1998-2001)
Robert Gallery – OT, Iowa (2000-03)
LaMichael James – RB, Oregon (2009-11)
Derrick Johnson – LB, Texas (2001-04)
Bill Kollar – DT, Montana State (1971-73)
Luke Kuechly – LB, Boston College (2009-11)
Jeremy Maclin – WR/KR, Missouri (2007-08)
Terance Mathis – WR, New Mexico (1985-87, 1989)
Bryant McKinnie – OT, Miami FL
Corey Moore – DL, Virginia Tech (1997-99)
Michael Stonebreaker – LB, Notre Dame (1986, 1988, 1990)
Tim Tebow – QB, Florida (2006-09)
Troy Vincent – DB, Wisconsin (1988-91)
Brian Westbrook – RB, Villanova (1997-98, 2000-01)
DeAngelo Williams – RB, Memphis (2002-05)

Monte Cater – 275-117-2 (70.1%); Lakeland, WI, Shepherd, WV
Paul Johnson – 189-99-0 (65.6%); Georgia Southern (1997-2001), Navy (2002-07), Georgia Tech (2008-18)
Roy Kramer – 83-32-2 (71.8%); Central Michigan (1967-77)
Mark Richt – 171-64-0 (72.8%); Georgia (2001-15), Miami, FL

“We are extremely proud to announce the 2023 College Football Hall of Fame Class,” said Archie Manning, NFF Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Mississippi. “Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments.”

The incredible list of players includes a Heisman winner (Tebow; Reggie Bush was also a Heisman winner but he was pressured into returning his 2005 award in 2021 due to NCAA violations), 10 unanimous First Team All-Americans (Berry (2), Bush, Freeney, Gallery, James, Johnson, Kuechly, McKinnie, Moore, Stonebreaker), 4 National Champions (Bush (2), McKinnie, Stonebreaker, Tebow (2)), 12 first-round NFL draft picks (Berry, Bush, Freeney, Gallery, Johnson, Kollar, Kuechly, Maclin, McKinnie, Tebow, Vincent, Williams), 10 offensive players (Bishop, Bush, Gallery, James, Maclin, Mathis, McKinnie, Tebow, Westbrook, Williams) and 8 defensive players (Berry, Freeney, Johnson, Kollar, Kuechly, Moore, Stonebreaker, Vincent).

The 2023 class will officially be inducted on December 5th, 2023 during the 65th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Presented by Las Vegas at the ARIA Resort & Casino Las Vegas.

This content has been brought to you by First and Pen in partnership with TheHub.News. First and Pen “amplifies local sports stories from voices of color to the national conscience…”

Follow @FirstandPen on Twitter.

You May Also Like